Economics Day 2023

Econ Day 2023


Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the Department of Economics and Penn Institute for Economic Research with the generous support of the W. P. Carey Foundation.

Undergraduate Awards

  • Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate awarded to Elizaveta Brover and David Jin
  • Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics awarded to Anvit Rao and Myneni Saavan
  • Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics awarded to Kyle Hancock and Roshie Xing

Graduate Awards

  • The Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics awarded to (TBA)
  • Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics awarded to Leon Huetsch
  • Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research awarded to Xincheng Qiu
  • Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics awarded to Ornella Darova
  • Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize awarded to Javier Tasso
  • William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2022 was awarded to Yueyuan Ma
  • David Cass/Beth Hayes Fellowship in Economics was awarded to Emilio Borghesan
  • Robert and Anita Summers Graduate Research Award was awarded to Alfonso Maselli
  • Lawrence Robbins Prize was awarded to Keunsang Song
  • Microeconomics Best Performance: awarded to Artemii Korolkov
  • Macroeconomics Best Performance: awarded to Ruben Piazzesi
  • Econometrics Best Performance: awarded to Eliana Sena Sarmiento

Teaching Awards 

  • Irving B. Kravis Certificate for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching awarded to Professors Petra Todd tenured, Joachim Hubmer tenure track.