Econ Day 2020

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the Department of Economics and Penn Institute for Economic Research with the generous support of the W. P. Carey Foundation and E. B. Cohen Insurance and Risk Management.

Undergraduate Awards

  • Kanta Marwah Prize for Undergraduate Research Grant awarded to Omkar Katta
  • Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate awarded to Aoife Coady
  • Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics awarded to Antonio Canales, Stephanie Grossman   
  • Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics awarded to Spencer Kersh

Graduate Awards

  • The Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics awarded to Tom├ís Larroucau
  • Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics awarded to Sara Casella
  • Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics awarded to Changhwa Lee
  • Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research awarded to Paolo Martellini
  • Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics awarded to Hanbaek Lee
  • Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize awarded to Felipe Ruiz Mazin
  • Dissertation Completion Fellowship awarded to Alejandro Sanchez
  • William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2019 was awarded to Takeaki Sunada
  • Lawrence Robbins Prize awarded to Joao Ritto   
  • Microeconomics Best Performance: awarded to Shuo Yang
  • Macroeconomics Best Peformance: awarded to Yoshiki Ando
  • Econometrics Best Performance: awarded to Marko Mlikota

Teaching Awards 

  • Irving B. Kravis Certificate for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching awarded to Professors Luca Bossi, Anne Duchene, Wayne Gao, John Lazarev, George J. Mailath and Guillermo L. Ordonez