Econ Day 2018

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the W.P. Carey Foundation and Elias B. Cohen and Associates.

Undergraduate Awards

  • Kanta Marwah Prize for Undergraduate Research Grant presented to Ezra Brooks
  • Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate presented to Catherine O'Donnell
  • Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Karen Whisler and Shaked Barkay
  • Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics presented to Natalia Ruh

Graduate Awards

  • The Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics presented to Yiran Chen
  • Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics presented to Ashwin Kambhampati and Alejandro Sanchez Becerra
  • Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics presented to Carlos Segura-Rodriguez
  • Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research presented to Weilong Zhang 
  • Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Kian Samaee
  • Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize presented to Robert Clark
  • Dissertation Completion Fellowship presented to Eugenio Rojas and Paul Sangrey
  • William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2017 This prize was presented to Ami Ko
  • Lawrence Robbins Prize awarded to Changhwa Lee
  • Microeconomics Best Performance: Shunyi Zhao
  • Macroeconomics Best Peformance: Pedro Brandao Solti
  • Econometrics Best Performance: Minji Bang

Teaching Awards 

  • Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching presented to Hanming Fang and Sarah Moshary