Econ Day Highlights 2017

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the W.P. Carey Foundation.

Undergraduate Awards

  • Kanta Marwah Prize for Undergraduate Research Grant presented to Joseph Sageman       
  • Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate presented to Kevin Chen
    •  Honorable Mention presented to Katrina Truebenbach    
  • Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Natalia Ruh and Claire Pajet 
  • Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics presented to Hong (Ken) Teoh 

Graduate Awards

  • The Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics presented to Minsu Chang 
  • Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics presented to Tomas Larroucau
  • Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics presented to Youngsoo Heo
  • Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research presented to Ami Ko 
  • Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Eugenio Rojas
  • Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize presented to Gabrielle Vasey
  • William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2016 This prize was presented to Selman Erol and Yanhao (Max) Wei
  • David Cass/Beth Hayes Prize for Research Accomplishments awarded to Murat Celik
  • Lawrence Robbins Prize awarded to Sherwin Lott

Teaching Awards 

  • Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching presented to Francis DiTraglia and Rakesh Vohra