Econ Day 2019

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the Department of Economics and Penn Institute for Economic Research with the generous support of the W. P. Carey Foundation and E. B. Cohen Insurance and Risk Management.

Undergraduate Awards

  • Kanta Marwah Prize for Undergraduate Research Grant presented to Benjamin Goodman and Jeffrey Yang
  • Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate presented to Nathan Ausubel
  • Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Edward Plunkett, Michael Bogdanos
  • Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics presented to Ezra Brooks

Graduate Awards

  • The Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics presented to Peng Shao
  • Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics presented to Xincheng Qiu
  • Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics presented to Pedro Solti
  • Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research presented to Minsu Chang
  • Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics presented to Joao Granja de Almeida
  • Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize presented to Jason Sockin
  • The Davis Cass/Beth Hayes Fellowship in Economics presented to Junyuan Zou 
  • Dissertation Completion Fellowship presented to Paolo Martellini
  • William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2018 was presented to Qing Gong
  • Lawrence Robbins Prize awarded to Xincheng Qiu
  • Microeconomics Best Performance: Tian Di
  • Macroeconomics Best Peformance: Sara Casella
  • Econometrics Best Performance: Cuimin Ba

Teaching Awards 

  • Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching presented to Jesús Fernandez-Villaverde and Annie Liang