Economics Day 2016


Special Event
Penn Museum

3260 South St.
Lower Egypt Room

Philadelphia, PA

United States

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the W.P. Carey Foundation.


Chair Dirk Krueger Department Chair Dirk Krueger welcomed attendees and introduced the program. 
Guillermo Ordonez
The winner of the Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching for tenure faculty was Guillermo Ordonez. 
Aislinn Bohren
Aislinn Bohren won the Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching for tenure track faculty. 
Christine Y.S. Huang
received the Kanta Marwah Prize for Undergraduate Research.
Christine Y. S. Huang
Katrina Truebenbach and Zachary Griff with Frank Schorfheide
The Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics was shared this year by undergraduates Katrina Truebenbach (left) and Zachary Griff (right). Undergraduate Chair Frank Schorfheide stands between them. 
Rachel Philbin (who was unable to attend) was the winner of the Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate.  Undergraduate Pearl Li (who was also unable to attend) was the winner of the Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics.
Nitin Krishnan Graduate student Nitin Krishnan won the Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize. 
The winner of this year's Robert Summers Dissertation Fellowship in Economics was Yu (Laura) Liu. Yu (Laura) Liu
Ami Ko Ami Ko received the Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics.
The Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics was awarded to Rossa O'Keeffe-O'Donovan. Rossa O'Keeffe-O'Donovan
 Nishant Ravi Nishant Ravi received the Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics.
Yanhao Wei was this year's winner of the Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research. Yanhao Wei
Kory Kantenga Kory Kantenga received the Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics.
Gus Carey and Salome Baslandze

Gus Carey (left) was on hand to present the William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2015. One of this year's winners, Salomé Baslandze (right), Assistant Professor of Economics at the Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance, expressed her thanks. The other winner, Hui Li, Assistant Professor of Marketing at the Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University, was unable to attend.