Economics Day 2013


Special Event
Penn Museum

3260 South St.
Egyptian Room

Philadelphia, PA

United States

Economics Day is our annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by economics faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the W.P. Carey Foundation.

Ken Wolpin

Department Chair Ken Wolpin welcomed attendees and introduced the program.

Jere Behrman and Alan Heston

Professors Jere Behrman (left) and Alan Heston (right) paid tribute to their colleague Robert Summers, who passed away last year. A dissertation fellowship has been established to honor him.

Felipe Saffie

Felipe Saffie was the winner of the first Robert Summers Dissertation Fellowship in Economics.

David Dillenberger and Jere Behrman

The winners of the Irving B. Kravis Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching were David Dillenberger (left) for tenure track faculty and Jere Behrman (right) for tenure faculty.

Keshav Garud and Julio Reynaga Galeas

The co-winners of the Kanta Marwah Undergraduate Research award were Keshav Garud (left) and Julio Reynaga Galeas. 

Seth Pollack

Seth Pollack was the winner of the Lawrence R. Klein Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate.

Jennifer Matte and Brian Collopy

The Simon Kuznets Fellowship Award in Economics was shared this year by undergraduates  Jennifer Matte (left) and Brian Collopy (right).

Jonathan Roth

Jonathan Roth was this year's winner of the Bernard Shanbaum Prize for Excellence in Economics.

Diego Amador Osuna

Graduate Student Diego Amador Osuna accepts the Edwin Mansfield Teaching Prize.

Naoki Aizawa

Naoki Aizawa received the Maloof Family Dissertation Fellowship in Economics.

Felipe Saffie and Joel Popkin

Felipe Saffie (left) received the Joel Popkin Graduate Student Teaching Prize in Economics from Joel Popkin (right).

Ju Hu

Ju Hu received the Sidney Weintraub Memorial Fellowship in Economics.

Anton Badev, who was unable to attend, won the Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research.

Nicolas Grau and Tanida Arayavechkit

The Hiram C. Haney Fellowship Award in Economics was shared by Nicolas Grau (left) and Tanida Arayavechkit (right). 

Kurt Mitman

Kurt Mitman won the Dave Cass/Beth Hayes Prize for Graduate Research Accomplishment in Economics.

Jay Carey

Jay Carey, William Polk Carey's nephew, was on hand to present the William Polk Carey Prize for the Outstanding Economics Dissertation in 2012.

Karam Kang

Karam Kang, who is Assistant Professor of Economics at the Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University, accepts the prize.