Date Title Description

We congratulate our former graduate student Alassane D. Ouattara, Ph.D. 1972, who was elected and recently installed as President of Cote d'Ivoire.  His dissertation was "Trade Effects of the Association of African Countries with the Common Market."

Dr. Rebecca Stein is the recipient of the Provost Award for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty.

The Kravis committe, composed of upper-level economics majors, gave teaching awards to Holger Sieg (tenured faculty award) and to Ufuk Afcigit (tenure-track award).

Scenes from Economics Day - April 15, 2011

(Note: The Paul Taubman Memorial Prize for Empirical Economics Research was won by Clement Joubert who was unable to attend the ceremony.)

In April, 2010, Professor Andrew Postlewaite won the Kravis teaching award for tenured faculty and Professor Flavio Cunha the award for tenure-track faculty, with Cunha winning for the second year in a row!  The Kravis prize selections are made each year by a committee of undergraduate students who do extensive polling of Penn undergraduate economics majors.  The Joel Popkin Graduate Teaching Prize in Economics was awarded to Stanislav Rabinovich.  The Edwin Mansfield Teaching Teaching prize for best performance by a recitation instructor in Introductory Economics was awarded to Mark Bognanni.

We congratulate our former graduate student, Ernesto Javier Cordero Arroyo, on his appointment as Mexico's Minister of Finance. He received his MA in economics from Penn in 1998.

Professor Oliver Williamson was awarded the 2009 Nobel prize in economics, along with Professor Elinor Ostrom, for his analysis of economics governance and of the boundaries of the firm. He was a member of the Penn Economics faculty from 1965-1983 (Associate Professor from 1965-58, Professor from 1968-83, and Charles and William L. Day Professor of economics and social science from 1977-1983). Much of the research for which he was awarded the Nobel prize was carried out during his time at Penn.

For further information see The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2009.

The November 2009 issue of the International Economic Review marks the 50th Anniversary of the journal, which was founded by Lawrence R. Klein in collaboration with the late Michio Morishima.

The editorial board of the IER is made up of Penn economics faculty. Over the last 50 years, the journal has remained true to Professor Klein's vision of the IER as a purely scholarly venture dedicated to the advancement of the science of economics.  The faculty celebrated the anniversary of the journal with a dinner on the occasion of Professor Klein's 89th birthday.